Posted in Joy, Life

Remembered Joy

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free!
I follow the plan God laid for me.
I saw His face, I heard His call,
I took His hand and left it all . . .

Dad
Dad playing the piano

I could not stay another day,
To love, to laugh, to work or play;
Tasks left undone must stay that way.
And if my parting has left a void,
Then fill it with remembered joy.

Dad
Dad playing a favorite song

A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss . . .
Ah yes, these things I, too, shall miss.
My life’s been full, I’ve savoured much:
Good times, good friends, a loved-one’s touch.

Dad
Playing by ear. No sheet music required.

Perhaps my time seemed all too brief –
Don’t shorten yours with undue grief.
Be not burdened with tears of sorrow,
Enjoy the sunshine of the morrow.

~ An Irish Blessing

My father was a musician, pastor of several churches and seemingly a friend to all. When he died he left a massive hole in so many lives. I miss my father every single day. They say that with time the hurt will heal. It’s been three years since he passed on. It seems it was just yesterday we shared a laugh – one of his many silly jokes or crazy puns.

 

Author:

The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be felt with the heart. ~ Helen Keller