More Thoughts on “Beyond The Lights”

Obviously, this movie spoke to me which is a rare thing given the sort of movies produced these days. It used to be fairly common to watch a movie and afterward have a coffee and a discussion about the experience watching the movie. What did it mean? Did it accomplish what the writers had hoped for? Was the acting good, bad or indifferent? Not so much these days . Movie-making and consuming tend to be a “wham bam, thank you, ma’am” experience. Which explains in part why I have not watched a movie in a theater for nearly a decade. I watch movies via iTunes and Amazon after determining their worthiness of expenditure of my time

Anyway since this blog is more of a journal than blog, (I don’t have much unique inspiration to offer.) my thoughts on a couple songs used in the movie follow.

This review of Beyond The Lights provides context: Beyond The Lights Review

Blackbird

Why you wanna fly Blackbird, you ain’t ever gonna fly
No place bif’ enough for holding all the tears you’re gonna cry
Cos your mama’s name was lonely and your daddy’s name was pain
And they call you little sorrow cos you’ll never love again

So why you wanna fly Blackbird, you ain’t ever gonna fly
You ain’t got no one to hold you, you ain’t got no one to care
If you’d only understand dear nobody wants you anywhere
So why you wanna fly Blackbird, you ain’t ever gonna fly.

— Nina Simone

My notes: For me, the song evokes clear despondency, a hopelessness of living life with no dream for a better or different future, a belief there can be no dream or better life.

At the end of the movie Noni has freed herself from those who stifled who she really is. The final song in the movie is an altogether different song about a freed blackbird. The promise and hope of a life on her own terms.

Lyrics for Blackbird from the movie, Beyond The Lights

ahhh

as i dive in without my wings the speed of light im flying to my endas i fall without my wings

how the last song the blackbird will sing

im free at last, free from you,

free from the past

fredom at last

what is life, other than a cage to me

im free at last, free from you

free from the past’

freedom at last

what is life, other than a cage to me

blackbird,

oh, blackbird

blackbird

oh, blackbird

now i rise as the pheniox escapes from me

through the fire, through the flames

leaving ashes underneath

im free at last, free from you

free from the past’

freedom at last what is life,

other than a cage to me

black bird

oh blackbird

blackbird

sing one last song for me

yeah blackbird

oh black bird

sing one last song for me

