A Life Without Pain

Butterflies and rainbows
Rainbow and butterflies

What the caterpillar calls the end of the world the master calls a butterfly. ~ Richard Bach

Those who sow in tears; Shall reap in joy.
~ Psalms 126:5

God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, Even though the earth be removed,
And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Though its waters roar and be troubled,
Though the mountains shake with its swelling.
~ Psalms 46:1-3

Or so they say. Personally, I believe my life would have had just as much meaning without falling victim to the New England Compounding Center (Framingham, MA) and their fungal-laden steroid that made it’s way into the epidural lining of my spinal cord.

I believe my previous struggles with broken legs after being hit by a car at age 13, nearly bleeding to death birthing two of my children among other fear-generating experiences should have been quite enough to build character so that I might become a useful contributor to society. I’m not yet convinced that losing my health, the best job I ever had, my income and the ability to enjoy physical activity has improved me as a person.

My “goal” in life these days is to read 250 books for the Goodreads.com read-so-many-books-in-a-year challenge. Last year was 300. With that and five dollars I may be able to buy a cup of coffee.

Soon we “victims” of NECC and their conscienceless, unscrupulous practices will receive some compensation — after only three years of litigation and settlement negotiations. None of us have completely healed physically or otherwise. The compensation does not bring back lost wages or jobs or people who died (64) from this unprecedented public health calamity. So, no. I’m still waiting for the improbable silver lining to surround my personal mushroom cloud (otherwise known as my life) and not expecting to see anything rainbow-like when all is said and done.

