Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday:  Way Back

In every conceivable manner, the family is link to our past, bridge to our future. ~ Alex Haley


Below is a photo of my much beloved grandmother (my father’s mother) holding me when I was a wee little one. Circa 1954-ish.

Grandma and me

My daughter’s grandmother (my mother) holding her when she was truly a wee little one. She was born prematurely and weighed 3.1 lbs at birth. Circa 1985. This was taken while Shari was still in the hospital in the intensive care unit for babies. It was a scary time but she made it. Now she’s 30. Hard to believe.


Grandma and granddaughter

A family bond can feel binding at times but the experiences shared over the years whether good or not so good, in my experience at least, make us who we are. I cannot imagine my life without my grandparents. They had a major impact in my life. The same is true of my parents but there were times as a teen I thought my life might be better without my parents. Fortunately, teen wishes do not come true.

