Dwelling

Grief is something we go through whether we’re ready for it or not. You think you’ll be strong and help carry the burden of grief with your family and friends. But some days it’s just not possible. You wonder “When will this dark night of the soul end? I’m walking in the shadow of death and I feel so removed from those who seem to have no cares in this world. Why? There are no answers. But there is hope of a light at the end of the tunnel.

My dad was a Baptist minister for 50 years. He has so many, many friends from all the various parishes he pastored. Not just friends but church members who are like family. He never knew a stranger. He was the life of every part, every family get together and loved to share his “gift” of corny jokes. I will always think of him with that huge grin and mischievous twinkle in his eyes. His life touched many people and it has a rippling effect. It’s true of anyone’s life.

If we can reach out and share experiences with others, I believe it helps not only those one attempts to comfort but helps in ones own healing process.

I was planning to write about part two of my vacation from real life—when I returned to New York City after my trip to Barbados just in time to greet my fellow authors from faraway lands who were in town for the Book Expo America Conference. I had such a fantastic, if not exhausting, time but I don’t feel like writing about it. My friend Samantha Stroh Bailey wrote a terrific recap here if you’re interested.

I was also thinking about doing a mass giveaway of my most recent novel, How Do You Know? I think it’s my best writing so far and I want to reach a larger audience but I don’t feel like promoting today either. (Although if you want a free ecopy, send me an email as I’m in a generous mood.)

My books are lighthearted, fun reads but my heart is too heavy right now to…

View original post 747 more words