The Educational Journey of An Amazing Women

I work at the University of Michigan in an academic unit providing resources to life sciences including study groups. Our department often has 1000 or more students using our computer labs for classes and/or participating in study groups daily. However, a major concern over the years has been the lack of women in Science and Technology education and careers and how to address and change this trend. 

 Here is a story of an amazing young woman. Her academic and career journey should be front and center at every university to inspire female students (as well as male) who are just beginning their educational journey. 

“My years in medical college ignited in me a passion for accomplishment and I am glad to have gained maximum mileage from that early academic phase. I completed my degree with distinguished honors, served as student representative, led civic awareness discussions, and conducted vaccination drives.”

Follow the link below to read the rest of her story:

From India to the US, and maybe back again: the journey of a physician-scientist

 

 

